11.11.05 - 14.12.05

Jens Liebchen | Playing Fields

    

"The great American curator John Szarkowski once wrote about a lecture given by the American photographer, Lee Friedlander, in Graz. The taciturn Friedlander was irritating his audience by saying nothing about the dozens of slides he was projecting except to note the location where each photograph was taken. Eventually someone voiced the question. Why did Mr. Friedlander feel it necessary to give this somewhat prosaic information with each slide he showed and was it so relevant that he had made the image he was showing in Chatanoogoo, or Tulsa? Friedlander thought for a moment and eventually replied that if he had not been in that particular city he would not have been able to make that particular photograph.

This delightful but pertinent anecdote and my use of the word 'particular' illustrates something fundamental about photography. It is anchored to the particular, a particular scene, thing or person at a particular place at a paraticular time. Photography is particular, literal, concrete. That is its glory but also its limitation, especially if a photographer is desirous of photographing history - and paradoxically, there is no better subject with which a photographer can engage than history. [...]"

Gerry Badger

from: Hidden - Presence in Absence (printed in the catalogue "Jens Liebchen. Playing Fields", Edition J. J. Heckenhauer, Berlin/Tuebingen 2005. The catalogue with the complete text by Gerry Badger can be purchased through the gallery).

[ Publication ]

heckenhauer-galerie

Ohne Titel (aus der Serie
Ohne Titel (aus der Serie "Playing Fields"), Giglée Print, 2005, 151 x 108 cm, Auflage 5

11.11.05 - 14.12.05
Jens Liebchen | Playing Fields

In seiner neusten Arbeit fokussiert Jens Liebchen in großformatigen Fotografien die stille Infrastruktur und die peripheren Lokalitäten des "new Great Game", jene Orte, die eng verknüpft sind mit dem geopolitischen "Spiel" um die Verteilung von Ressourcen im Kaukasus und Zentral-Asien.

"Liebchen has attempted to conjure up a metaphor for what is happening in the area, seeking to make visible the invisible by photographing the invisible – or, to more precise, by photographing the nearly invisible, that is to say the disregarded, the ephemeral, the ubiquitous, the fleeting. In short, Jens Liebchen has decided to make use of one of photography’s abiding traits, its transfigurative power, whereby the close, forensic scrutiny of an ordinary object can yield a multiplicity of interpretive clues for sifting by the cultural archaeologist, or the open-minded, perceptive viewer."

(Gerry Badger)

"Der berühmte amerikanische Kurator John Szarkowski schrieb einmal über einen Vortrag, den der große amerikanische Fotograf Lee Friedlander, in Graz gehalten hatte. Der wortkarge Friedlander irritierte sein Publikum, indem er nichts über die Dutzende von Dias sagte, die er zeigte. Er bemerkte lediglich, wo jedes Foto aufgenommen worden war. Schließlich erhob jemand die Stimme: Warum fand Mister Friedlander es notwendig, diese doch recht prosaische Information bei jedem Dia zu geben? Und war es wirklich so wichtig, ob das Bild, das er zeigte, in Chatanoogoo oder in Tulsa entstanden war? Friedlander dachte einen Augenblick nach, dann antwortete er: Wäre er nicht in dieser besonderen Stadt gewesen, hätte er dieses besondere Foto nicht machen können.

Diese ebenso schöne wie passende Anekdote und mein Gebrauch des Wortes „besonders“ veranschaulichen etwas Fundamentales über Fotografie. Sie ist im Besonderen verankert, eine besondere Szene oder Sache oder Person an einem besonderen Ort zu einer besonderen Zeit. Fotografie ist „besonders“, wortwörtlich, konkret. Das ist ihr Glanz, aber auch ihre Begrenzung, vor allem wenn man Geschichte fotografieren will – und paradoxerweise gibt es kein besseres Thema, mit dem sich ein Fotograf befassen kann, als eben jene Geschichte. [...]"

Gerry Badger

aus: Verborgen – Sichtbar im Unsichtbaren / aus dem Englischen von Barbara Werner (abgedruckt im Katalog "Jens Liebchen. Playing Fields", Edition J. J. Heckenhauer, Berlin/Tübingen 2005. Den Katalog mit dem vollständigen Text von Gerry Badger können Sie über unsere Galerie beziehen).

[ index.php?id=168 ]